Home Blog

Happy Birthday to Jessi Combs – Moto Lady

0


jessi combs and author alicia mariah elfving of motolady

Happy Birthday to Jessi Combs– the fastest woman on earth. You are missed.

I’ve had Jessi’s birthday in my calendar for quite some time now– as I do with the majority of my most treasured friends. A week ago the little notification bubble popped up reminding me– “Jessi Combs’ birthday in one week!” It hit me like a ton of bricks. She would have been 41 years old today.

Sometimes in my line of work, with my lifestyle, a sense of time isn’t so set-in-stone. One month will go by so slowly you might as well be watching paint dry, and then the next two are gone in what seems like a blink. The same thing happens with years– some seem to drag on and on (like 2020 for most of us) and other times I can’t believe it was five years ago that I was sharing shop space with THE Jessi Combs.

That’s why the little phone reminder hit me so hard this time. It’s been over two years since she passed away and somehow it feels like just yesterday that she was helping me fix the broken exhaust mounts on my Ducati because I remember our good times so clearly. On the other hand, her absence in the automotive world has been so obvious for so long. It’s a strange mix of surreality.

So I took a walk down memory lane and went digging through my archives, pulling out photos never before seen by the likes of the interwebs. Moments in the shop when we were just goofing off, palling around with friends, being who we really were. Ladies who like to build stuff, laugh a lot, and take no shit.

If you’ve already picked up The MotoLady’s Book of Women Who Ride, you know that Jessi Combs is the first feature in the “Making History” section at the very beginning. A few pages in and you’re staring at her face, taking up a full-page, next to the longest piece in the entire publication. I think it came out to like 3,000 words or something when the next-longest piece is about 900 words. ….And that’s after my editors got to it. Trying to boil down what Jessi meant to me, and many others, into a short piece of prose is nearly impossible. At least that’s how I felt about it.

Nonetheless, I wanted to share a few of my favorite photos from our shoots, some of these previously unpublished behind-the-scenes shots that capture her spirit so well, and an excerpt from the piece in my book. Hope you enjoy.

Jessi Combs. Where to start? You were (past tense will forever feel surreal and wrong) a beautiful soul, a badass, and an incredible person. The impact you made with your work will live on. The passions you inflamed, the excitement you fueled, the smiles you created. They will echo in our hearts, in our memories, on art gallery walls, in pieces you created, on the grounds you raced. They will roar down the street in the vehicles you built.

You opened your shop to me when I needed a little love in life, reaching out your hand when most were closed fists. Sharing your most precious space and inviting me behind the curtain into a world most people never got to glimpse. A woman of strength and compassion, tenacity, and faith. You were always honest even when it was difficult . . . a rare and important quality.

I met Jessi sometime in mid-2015 at Born Free when my friend Sofi Tsingos of GT-Moto had flown in from Texas to work with her and Real Deal business partner Theresa Contreras. Jessi was fluttering about, talking to fans and friends, smiling, and doing her thing. A few months later we got together for a good old-fashioned girls’ night, getting sushi, watching movies, and going to the store at midnight to buy a full roasted chicken. We devoured it. The giggles were endless.

With so many similarities in our personalities and preferences, I always felt like we were kindred spirits. Sort of take-no-shit types with expansive, soft hearts. A friend for life. A partner in crime. One that was far busier and cooler than I would ever be, but that didn’t matter.

Jessi and Theresa invited me to be a part of the Real Deal demos at Chopperfest and Babes Ride Out, where they offered short class-like intros into trades such as welding, pinstriping, and, in my case, leathercraft. The number of women in line for demos at the Real Deal booth during Babes Ride Out surpassed every other in the area by far. Women eagerly waited for their chance to get their hands dirty and try something new. I just felt lucky to get to work beside Jessi and soak up her wisdom and can-do attitude.

One of my all-time favorite memories is taking the long route with Jessi, Theresa, and Sofi back home from Babes Ride Out in Joshua Tree that summer. Jessi on her Triumph Scrambler, Theresa on her bobbed-out Harley, Sofi on the KTM Duke 390, and me on a little Yamaha SR400. We had a blast. All of us had similar “spirited” riding styles.

More info and where the buy the book here. (Or if you’re super lazy, click here and it’ll take you to Amazon.)

And now for the random collection of photos!

Jessi Combs shows Alicia Elfving of MotoLady welding tricks on her motorcycle

After I got the Ducati back together from our big crash (where I thought I was gonna die) one of my mufflers almost fell off in the middle of a ride. Turns out, my exhaust bracket had broken. Coincidentally, the one on the other side was cracked too. Jessi helped me with the delicate procedure– one that honestly terrified me to do. After spending three years building Pandora, the last thing I wanted was to weld onto a powdercoated frame. I’m not a terrible welder, but I’m no professional. And if you don’t know what you’re doing on something like this… things can go real sideways, real fast. Jessi knew I was freaked out– I kept hesitating when I went to put the bead down. She told me, “Hey, if you fuck it up. I’ll fix it for you.” That’s all I needed– I gave it my best go. Welp, I fucked it up. The temp was way too hot and I basically melted the spot I was trying to fix.

So I ground it all down and got it prepped to fix… again. Jessi stepped in and showed me the proper way to do it. So not only does Pandora have my blood sweat and tears, but it’s got a little bit of Jessi too.

Next up from the archive is the “Meet Jessi Combs” design I did for her work with SEMA in 2016. A larger than life lady… literally larger than life! This was the same year she was invited to co-host the SEMA Awards.

This woman had a walk-in closet half the size of my bedroom– and of course it was mostly filled with work clothes and stylish boots and accessories. But getting dressed up wasn’t something Jessi did super often (although she did it with ease), so when we got talking about her outfit for the awards banquet we realized she didn’t have matching jewelry. So I made her some! Here she is rocking the necklace I crafted to match her earrings for the event. It was designed to hang down much further, but they had to adjust it because of the microphone. Her face is the “I hope you’re not mad but we had to mess with your design” expression. I wasn’t mad at all, she looked great.

The next photos are from a photoshoot we did in Joshua Tree National Park during Babes Ride Out 2015 for my Motorcyclist Magazine article. We found a pretty spot on a dirt road inside the park and let ‘er rip.

Here’s two from one of our random nights hanging out in her shop when she was working on the Real Deal Revolution BMW r9t cafe racer. Showing off the sexy new wheels she got… being all adorable.

More random shop night fun with a couple of pics Jessi snapped of Theresa Contreras (her business partner) and I proposing with hose-clamp rings.

And one with her biggol grin that we all miss so much.

I’m not sure she even know I was taking this photo of her moving her Triumph Scrambler.

Her super-serious focus-face working on Real Deal trophies at Babes Ride Out.

Yet another from Babes Ride Out, with some of my favorite-ever people, the core Real Deal crew. Left-to-right– Jessi Combs, me, Sofi Tsingos, and Theresa Contreras. I think this shot captures all our personalities pretty well and it’s one of my all-time favorites.

And last but not least, the last photo of us together, the last time I saw her. At Camp Zero in the Sturgis Buffalo Chip in 2018, right after I got done completing my very first race ever (on minibikes).

Jessi Combs & Alicia Elfving / MotoLady at Sturgis Buffalo Chip

Photo by Aaron Packard

Thanks for much for looking and for reading, I hope you enjoyed the walk down memory lane.

If you want more behind-the-scenes goodness and to read more about how I met the fastest woman on earth, check out the “Goodbye Jessi Combs: Legend, Leader, Lady” article I wrote a couple years back.

[ more from the blog | Jessi Combs]

The MotoLady Ducati Monster “Pandora” and Alicia get their photoshoot on with Jimmy Ban in …

Learn more

Tags: , , , , ,

Posted on July 27, 2021 in Blog, MotoLadies by

TMO is Dead. Long Live TMO – Dancing the Polka

0


I will neither confirm nor deny that I am now employed in the service of a major motorcycle manufacturer. But I will tell you that Harley-Davidson makes the best bikes in the history of biking. So much good motorcycles. And parts and accessories, and general merchandise; from keychains to drive chains, Harley delivers the best. I don’t know why other manufacturers even bother, really.

And if I did work for Harley – again, not saying I am but, you know, if I did – you could probably understand how such a thing would have a pretty major impact on TMO. So major, in fact, that I might be inclined to change the name of the site (probably to something like, oh… Dancing the Polka) and return to an idea I had a year ago of broadening its focus.

KEEP READING:
Tales of Low-Level Adventure

Doing such a thing, I’d worry about disappointing people. But I’d take solace in the fact my stats suggest I wouldn’t be disappointing a lot of people. Primarily I’d feel apologetic to the super-awesome folks who have supported TMO via Patreon. I’d feel I’d let them down in some way. I’d certainly suggest that they may want to drop their financial support for a website that has changed markedly from what they signed up for – the focus now altered and posts inherently less frequent.

The site’s name, were I to do all this, would be a return to a philosophy that will be familiar to those who have suffered my writing over the past years. Roughly two decades ago, I was at a family-focused Oktoberfest celebration in La Mesa, California; amid the street performers and bands and arts and crafts and such, roamed a small pack of local beauty queens representing a number of San Diego suburbs. La Mesa, Lemon Grove, Santee, El Cajon, etc.

As the polka band struck up its first tune, Miss El Cajon lightly touched my hand, flashed her perfect teeth and suggested I join her for a dance. Giving in to my latent social anxiety, I demurred. She politely nodded understanding, then turned to a fella near me who promptly joined her in front of the stage to hop around in circles amidst all the other guys and gals and kiddos who had been brought forward by other sash-wearing ladies in elegant gowns. Soon the crowd melted forward to join them and I found myself standing there for a moment thinking: “What the hell is wrong with me? Why did I say no? In what plausible scenario is it a bad idea to dance the polka with Miss El Cajon?”

It’s an experience that has burned me ever since, and one I hold onto as a reminder: live your life. Do the stupid shit. If a beauty queen asks you to dance, fucking dance. And take delight in it. The universe provides us with far more opportunities for joy than we give it credit for; we simply need to be better about identifying and seizing those opportunities.

So, I think Dancing the Polka would be a good name for a site that focuses on life’s adventures and quirks – big and small. Sometimes those adventures happen on motorcycles, sometimes not. And I think it’s a good analogy for how I’d like to live my life. I can’t imagine anyone takes themselves seriously when they polka. They might be quite good at it, might spend time and energy and emotion in doing it well, but the polka isn’t high art. It is essentially just an opportunity to jump up and down and hoot and grab people consensually. Which is about the best way to live that I can imagine.

But as I say: I will neither confirm nor deny any of this.

How To Shorten Motorcycle Rain Pants; Simple Tips For Oversized Gear

0


We’re an Affiliate. If you use our partner links we earn a commsission at no extra cost to you. Thank you for your support! Read the full disclosure here.

If you’ve slid on a pair of motorcycle rain pants in the past and found them a little extra long in the leg (like 3 or 4 inches long, even) just know you are nowhere near alone!

Unless you are part moose, the odds are pretty good that most “off the rack” motorcycle rain pants are going to fit a little longer than pants you wear on a day-to-day basis will. Most brands making this safety gear aren’t in the fashion world and are pumping out a bunch of different ways sizes and inseams.

A little oversized is ok to fit over your clothes or motorcycle gear, but manufacturers either get carried away or you can’t find the size you’re looking for. 

You’ll be lucky if you find Small, Medium, Large, and Extra-Large in the waist and a pretty much one-size-fits-all length most of the time.

But that doesn’t mean you have to ride your bike in less than ideal whether with a pair of rain pants that look like you borrowed them from an older sibling.

No, you really can fix them up so that they fit you perfectly – the way they are supposed to – without a lot of headache and without a lot of hassle.

Let’s dig right in.

How To Shorten Motorcycle Rain Pants

Motorcycle rain pants can be modified using basic sewing techniques.

  • Remove protectors or armor (if equipped)
  • Pull the pants inside out
  • Determine type of closures on pants
  • Measure inseam
  • Mark areas to be modified with chalk
  • Make cuts as needed
motorcycle touring tips newsletter

Can Motorcycle Rain Pants Be Modified?

You bet you can, even if you’re working with motorcycle rain pants that are multilayer setups with “internal membranes” designed to keep water out while allowing moisture and humidity to pass through (keeping you cool while you ride).

There are a couple of things you’ll need to zero in on to make these kinds of modifications, but anybody with a sewing machine, a little patience, and a couple of specialty materials should be able to knock this out in 45 minutes or so.

Just know that the second you cut into your motorcycle rain pants you’ve 100% just violated any warranty that they might have had. You can’t send a pair of leaky custom motorcycle rain shorts back to a company and expect them to send you a pair of pants in return!

Like we suggested in this article about cleaning a leather jacket in a washing machine, you may want to experiment by buying a used set and see how that goes.

What Kind of Closure Sits at the End of Your Pants?

The first thing you need to knock out, before you do anything else, is determine the kind of closure system you have at the end of your rain pants.

Velcro closures are by far the easiest to play around with, with elastic closures following that up pretty closely. Zippered closures are a little more challenging to modify (but not impossible).

At the end of the day, the closure at the end of your pants (the foot end of your pants) is going to dictate pretty much everything about how this project unfolds.

Using a professional to make alterations on your existing rain gear or touring pants is worth the money. Sometimes all that may need to be done is altering the inseam or having them remove a section from the shin/calf area.

Motorcycle Touring Tips

Trimming Things Up – Measure Twice (And Then Again) Before You Cut

If you are working with a Velcro or elastic closure, measuring and trimming motorcycle rain pants is almost effortless.

All you really have to do is measure your inseam (get your hands on a tailor’s tape measure or pop down to a tux rental and asked them to measure you out) and then transfer those measurements over to your pants.

You’ll need to put one mark (using chalk so that it washes away when you’re done) exactly where you want the pants to end when you are done and another about an inch or two below that. That’s going to give you plenty of material to run new Velcro closures or elastic inside of the new hem.

With a zipper, though, you’re actually going to need to “move” the zipper itself – basically splitting the fabric a little higher up (following the initial zipper line), taking it out of the pants completely and then sewing it back into place after you’ve done the new hem for your new inseam.

Like we said, that’s a little more involved but not impossible. More info here.

Make sure that any interior layers (especially membrane layers) get folded up and sealed back into the new closure, too. You don’t want any renegade layers inside letting moisture or water through leaky seams.

parked motorcycles

Go the Pro Tailor Route

Of course, if you don’t feel up to the task of tailoring your own rain gear for your motorcycle (and plenty of folks don’t feel they have the chops behind a sewing machine to get the results they are after) you can definitely bring this job to your corner tailor, too.

Just let them know that you want to shorten things up a little bit and they’ll take over from there.

Pros will be able to knock out your measurements in a hurry, transfer them over to your motorcycle rain pants, and make the upgrade in no time at all – handling all of the heavy lifting for you.

Not only that, but you’ll enjoy little more peace of mind knowing that professionals took care of this project for you from start to finish. They will also have all the tools on hand (as well as special materials like waterproofing fabric cement, for example) to make sure that not a drop of rain penetrates these modified pants.

Find Brands That Offer Short Versions

At the end of the day, another approach you might think about is simply purchasing rain pants for your motorcycle from brands that offer “short” versions. You may even be able to find some closeout deals on something more your size.

Like we mentioned earlier, not every brand (or even most of them) offer the kind of size variations in their pants that you’ll find at a local department store, even. Most of them offer one length across a couple of different universal waist sizes and call it good.

how to shorten motorcycle rain pants

On the flip side of things, though, some brands (like Olympia, Aerostitch, and Firstgear) all offer more custom inseam options then you’ll find elsewhere. It might be worth splashing a little extra cash to get your hands on pants from those brands rather than spend the time, money, and energy modifying a pair that might fight you every step of the way.

All in all, zero in on the inside information we highlighted above on how to shorten motorcycle rain pants, you’ll never have to worry about your motorcycle rain gear letting you down or fitting funky!

Royal Enfield Meteor 350 Coming Soon In Nepal

0


Royal Enfield Meteor 350 Specifications

Engine Type Single-Cylinder, 4-stroke, SOHC, EFI
Emission Standard BS6
Displacement 349 cc
Cooling System Oil Cooled
Starting Mechanism Self-Starter Only
Max Power 20.48 PS @ 6100 rpm
Max Torque 27 Nm @ 4000 rpm
Gearbox 5-Speed
Top Speed 113 Kmph
Fuel Tank Capacity 15 liters
Mileage 40 kmpl
Front Tyre 100/90-19 – Disc
Rear Tyre 140/70-17 – Disc
Tubeless Tyres Yes
Braking System Dual-Channel ABS
Suspension Setup Telescopic and Twin Tube Emulsion Absorbers
Seat Height 765 mm
Ground Clearance 170 mm
Kerb Weight 197 kg
Colors Fireball, Steller, and Supernova
Price Rs. 6.50 Lakhs – Rs. 7.50 Lakhs (expected)

Royal Enfield Meteor 350 Overview

Design

Royal Enfield Meteor 350 carry on with its cruiser DNA. It continues on the planning, made mainstream by the Thunderbird. However, it upgrades on the old design by covering new design changes. This redesign enhancing the general call of the motorcycle while pattering a practical purpose.

Meteor 350 approaches with the classic halogen bulbs juxtaposed a circular LED DRL. In addition, it comes with a renewal ring-type LED tail light. Additionally, it sports the new handlebar commands, unique only to Meteor 350.

Royal Enfield Meteor 350

You May Like: It’s Official: Jawa Perak Specification | Review

On the opposite hand, it replaced the old Thunderbird single-piece seat with an easier split-seat setup. Compared to the old setup, it’s low and wide for easier long rides. In addition, the fuel tank has been only moderately redesigned. It trademark a slimmer profile with a more notable teardrop-shaped fuel tank. Royal Enfield Meteor 350 are going to be available in three variants: Fireball, Steller, and Supernova.

Performance

Royal Enfield Meteor is generated by the new 349cc, Single-Cylinder, Air-Cooled, SOHC, EFI engine. It can bring about a max power of 20.48PS at 6100rpm and a max torque of 27Nm at 4000rpm. In addition, it’s copulated to a 5-speed gearbox with a 15-liter fuel tank.

Meteor gets a replacement J series engine that follows the BS6 norms. In contrast to the normal Royal Enfield experience, the new Meteor debuts the foremost refined 350cc engine yet. It offers the foremost punchy performance with minimal vibrations.

Features

Here may be a quick check out the new features within the Royal Enfield Meteor.

Royal Enfield Meteor 350 Features Highlight

  • Retro Styled Cruiser Design
  • New 350cc Engine
  • Halogen Headlamp with LED DRL
  • Ring-type LED Taillight
  • Slimmer Teardrop Fuel Tank
  • Split-Seat Setup
  • New Instrument Meter with Tipper Navigation
  • Smart Handlebar Controls
  • USB Charging Port
  • Bulkier Tyres with Alloy Designed Wheels
  • Dual Disc Braking
  • Dual-Channel ABS
  • Twin Rear Suspension and Telescopic Front Suspension

Royal Enfield Meteor 350

You May Like: It’s Official: JAWA BIKES PRICE IN NEPAL
Availability and price of Royal Enfield Meteor in Nepal

Royal Enfield Meteor 350 launch in Nepal was derange by the current situation. However, the method is now within the drawing board. While verifying its upcoming appearance, Royal Enfield Nepal has stated to launch it at a peerless price.

Royal Enfield Meteor price in Nepal are going to be around Rs. 6.50 Lakhs to Rs. 7.50 Lakhs. Please note that the pricing is totally speculative. So, grab it with a grain of salt. In addition, RE Meteor 350 will ultimately initiate the approach of more BS6-compliant Royal Enfield’s in Nepal. After waiting for months, it is finally happening!

Royal Enfield Meteor 350 Price in Nepal
Royal Enfield Meteor 350 Rs. 6.50 Lakhs – Rs. 7.50 Lakhs (expected)

Meteor 350 participates in opposition to the new Honda Highness CB 350. While Honda Highness is providing more features during this segment, many are declaring it to be expensive. Royal Enfield Meteor achievement will likely be poised if it premiere with the proper pricing.

Motorcycle safety tips from experts including Carl Fogarty & UsernameKate

0


motorcycle safety

If you’re thinking of getting back on your motorcycle after a break or if you are new to biking, safety is always a concern. Here some of Bikesure’s experts offer some timely advice about motorcycle safety.

And, as you will see, it’s advice worth considering as we have spoken to Bikesure ambassadors Carl Fogarty, a four times world superbike champion, motorcycling vlogger Kate Ralph, also known as UsernameKate, and two of the insurance company’s biking mad managers, Rob and Tom. 

Foggy’s motorcycle safety advice

Always make sure your bike is safe and roadworthy, check the tread on your tyres, especially in damp conditions.

You know what you’re doing but expect the unexpected from everyone around you.

Be seen – leave your lights on and wear hi vis clothing.

Wear the best protective equipment that you can afford – it might just save your life.

Stick within the speed limits – they are there for a reason.

UsernameKate’s motorcycle safety advice

Ride defensively, and don’t get complacent. Drivers can be unpredictable but if you’re switched on and alert you stand half a chance!

Consider extra bike training courses. There’s always something to learn and the more knowledge you have, the safer you will be.

Choose your company wisely. If you like to ride in groups, try to ride with sensible people. If you have crazy friends who want to cross double white lines and ride at stupid speeds, don’t ride to please them, ride for yourself. If it’s too much, find a more sensible group to ride with.

motorcycle safety

Rob’s motorcycle safety advice

So many of the accidents we see occur at junctions, so approach these with care. Reduce your speed on approach to junctions and complete overtakes well before junctions. Have the other road users seen you, try to get a sense of whether they have and act accordingly. If in doubt, act like they haven’t seen you.

Plan your moves ahead. If you’re riding well, you shouldn’t need to be performing hard braking, keep it smooth.

Know your limits. Chances are the bike’s limits will exceed yours, so be aware of your riding skills and don’t push your limits, well not too far.

Ride in accordance with the conditions and wear the right gear to take that into account too. Being uncomfortable is distracting and you need to stay focused and relaxed.

Tired, stiff or stressed? Take a break, have a stretch and a coffee and reflect on the ride before resuming your journey.

motorcycle safety

Tom’s motorcycle safety advice

Give your bike a once over frequently. Maintaining your bike, lubricating the chain and general maintenance in a timely fashion go a long way to keeping you safe – the last thing you want is your bike letting you down, the chain slipping or something else, while you are riding.

Give yourself time to get to know your bike before taking a pillion, and always give a new pillion rider a pre-ride brief — this should stop them doing something that throws you off, like fighting against you leaning.

Watch the weather. Always check the weather forecast before going out for a ride. It might save you from being out in weather you really shouldn’t try to ride in — I’ve been caught out by the weather so I’m speaking from experience!.

Clean your visor regularly, this stops streaking from headlights especially at night. You need to be able to see after all!

Always wear your protective gear, even for those really short trips or city riding. Road rash isn’t worth it, even if it’s hot.

Still lacking confidence about motorcycle safety?

If the motorcycle safety advice from our experts still leaves you quaking in your leather biking boots, Rob has some extra tips for you.

With his tongue very much in his cheek, he advised:

  • Leave your motorbike in the garage and don’t start the engine
  • Sell your bike
  • Never get another bike, don’t even think about it
  • Don’t even do a test ride, ever again

Bikesure insurance for every biker

Whether you are a daily biker, new to motorcycling or a born again biker, Bikesure will have a motorcycle insurance policy to match your very individual needs. Call 0330 123 1028 for a speedy no obligation quote. 

Carl Fogarty

" STAND UP"

0



Please to all who are here. REGISTER TO VOTE – AND DO SO!!!!!

1storm Motorcycle Helmet Review 2021

0


1storm is one of the leading suppliers of motorcycle helmets in Japan. They offer a variety of different styles and designs, all at very affordable prices. Whether you are looking for an open-faced helmet or full-face helmet, 1storm has got you covered with their extensive range of products. 

The article will discuss the benefits offered by these stylish helmets as well as provide some helpful tips on how to find your perfect fit! If you’re interested in reading more about motorcycle helmets then be sure to check out our blog post!

The world of motorcycle helmets and protective headgear is a rather large one. There’s a lot to choose from and many different styles, shapes and sizes available which makes finding the right helmet for you that much more difficult. So how do you decide? Well there are some features that can help point out what would be good for you such as safety ratings, style, padding, vents and each each varies between brands like 1Storm Motorcycle Helmets. Today we’re going to take a look at 1Storm Motorcycle Helmets in order to determine whether they have what it takes…

1STORM MOTORCYCLE HELMETS FEATURES RATING PRICE TAGS Certified DOT – FMVSS 218 / DOT Certified

About 1storm helmet company.

1Storm is a company that found in Japan.It’s designed helmets for both men and women. 1storm has few models, which are 1storm , HURRICANE, V-ICTORIA. We already introduce the product of this company before here .

They use fiberglass or carbon fibers on the inside of the helmet to make light but strong shell. The unique point of their design is using air circulation system instead of ventilation system like other helmets companies do(like AGV). It takes less power because it doesn’t need fans at all to cool riders’ head. And air flows into eye area through tiny holes below the visor; then get out from special vents between cheek pads and top of the shoulder pad.

1Storm Motorcycle Modular Full Face Helmet Review

Many riders often wonder why they should invest in a full-face motorcycle helmet instead of the regular half helmets. Their answer clearly lies in the fact that it is much safer to ride with one due to its better protection and shield from wind and bad weather. Any good 1storm motorcycle helmet will tell you how important this accessory really is for any serious biker out there who wants to keep their head safe and sound.

What makes these protective gears even popular among many customers? The following explains why:

Better Protection – This type of helmet provides total coverage compared to half helmets which only cover half of your face. Aside from this, it also offers better protection to the side and back of your head. Its shield is designed not only for style but to give you maximum protection against wind, rain, dirt, debris, and other harsh elements outside. Damage-Free Hair – Even with its solid overlay protecting half your face from harm, 1storm helmet will tell you that it still leaves enough space underneath for a ponytail or any other kind of hairdo without causing damage to the rear section of your ‘do. This makes them the perfect companion especially if you have long hair. More Stylish—This type’s visor gives a sleek look which adds a level of sophistication to any wearer since it doesn’t cover all their face as most helmets do. It still provides the dark shades, which is perfect during inclement weather, but leaves enough space for any rider to enjoy their ride.

Memory Foam Padding – Most 1storm motorcycle helmet review often praise this brand’s interior design which has special padding with memory foam that offers your head a better fit without feeling too tight or uncomfortable. With its lightweight feature, you can easily wear these helmets for hours and not feel any strain at all. Affordable Price – Compared to ordering custom-made full face helmets, quality 1storm show that these are more affordable since they are readily available in stores and online shops. Since it offers both comfort and safety, there is really no reason not to get one of these models especially if you want to stand out from the crowd.

Pros and cons of buying a 1storm motorcycle helmet

  1. Protection. A motorcycle helmet protects your head from injury in the case of an accident that would otherwise have caused a serious brain injury or even death. Helmets are worn by professional racers, sport bike riders and cruiser riders alike, as well as casual street motorcyclists who just want to go for a ride on their favorite bike on their day off or weekend without having to worry about what might happen if they fall down while riding. Motorcycle helmets are generally made out of ABS plastic which is lightweight yet very strong so it can provide acceptable impact protection for the person wearing it during an accident. ABS is considered the safest type of material since it is resistant to abrasion, cuts, flame and chemicals as well as the sun’s ultraviolet rays.
  2. Protection from falling debris and other hazards on the road such as gravel or rocks kicked up from a car ahead of you. Believe it or not, this is a very real danger on today’s busy highways, especially for motorcycle riders who can’t see what might be just around a big truck in front of them that has an air draft blowing stuff around. A helmet provides protection from being hit by falling objects that could seriously injure you if they strike your unprotected head on the highway at 50 mph or faster. More cruising motorcycles are now equipped with windshields meant to deflect some of these types of problems away from the motorcyclist, but having no protection whatsoever still leaves your head vulnerable to injury. A motorcycle helmet protects you from this type of inadvertent impact.
  3. The “cool” factor. Wearing a 1storm motorcycle helmet shows your peers, the general riding community and casual observers that you are committed to actually wearing one while riding instead of just saying you will because it’s the law in your state for anyone under 21 years old or even all riders in some states like California and others. Riding with no helmet is far more common than one might expect despite its serious dangers, so proudly displaying your dedication to safe riding when you strap on your lid also tells people around you how much respect you have for yourself when operating machinery capable of causing bodily harm when misused or abused in way possible.
  4. The health benefits of wearing helmets. Helmets are great for giving your hairdo a rest from all the helmet-head frizzies that ensue when you take it off, or not having to repeatedly brush out that rat’s nest tangle after you ride. Wearing one also reduces the amount of pollution you breathe in while riding by filtering out fine dust particles and microscopic pollutants that can be inhaled through your nose and mouth which aren’t filtered by normal breath masks, water filters or HEPA air purifiers because they’re too small for those devices to catch without proper filtration media like an activated carbon filter. It is recommended however, if you plan on wearing a helmet for any lengthy length of time to take at least one short break every hour while wearing it to give your head a chance to breathe, on top of making sure the helmet is not too tight or loose-fitting by checking for comfort and airflow each time you put it on.
  5. Looks good while doing it. You look tough when you’re wearing a motorcycle helmet because helmets are synonymous with motorcycles in most people’s minds since they’ve been around for more than 100 years now. Although there were photos found dating back to 1895 of men riding bicycles wearing some form of protective headgear, this was primarily worn only by daredevils who thought nothing of testing out their new invention at seemingly reckless speeds downhill without brakes. This is why today skullcaps are still used during motocross racing, but have evolved to include air vents and other technologies to help keep the rider cool while wearing it.

1Storm Motorcycle Modular Full Face Helmet Flip up Dual Visor Sun Shield: HB89 Glossy Black

The 1Storm motorcycle modular full face helmet is the ultimate in flexibility for riders. This high-tech design combines advanced, modern technology with an analysis of rider needs through research and development to deliver an extremely adaptable helmet that is custom made to accommodate day or nighttime riding. The clear outer shields are easy to remove when you’re switching back and forth between riding during the day and especially when it’s dark out, while the inner smoked visor provides protection from wind, rain, fog, insects…you get the picture. With its impressive dual-visor design which can be easily changed depending on your environment this innovative contraption was built of innovative materials including Kaliks ArmorCore which dramatically increases durability while also providing more strength than other helmets on

Our modular 1Storm Full Face Helmet is designed for those riding bikes. From rough gravel paths to commuter downtown roadway rides, this motorcycle helmet ensures the ultimate protection to your road warrior’s head with an aerodynamic ABS shell and multi-density EPS materials. With a company like ours as your motorcycle protective gear provider, you know that we’ve got you covered whether on or off the bike!

1Storm riders share a mutual bond and love for four wheeled machines that provide comfort, dependability, and confidence on rugged terrain; there’s nothing better than breezing through winding back roads or clearing sharp turns with ease. The company seeks out the very best helmets available to offer riders protection from rocks, stones – even animals coming too close. A helmet quickly becomes one of their most cherished items during rides. It knows when we need comfort and understanding; we trust it because it will be protecting us throughout long periods on two wheels down dusty country roads.

With a removable and washable lining and pads, this sleek helmet will keep you feeling fresh no matter how long your ride is. Take advantage of our great introductory pricing today!

One Storm Motorcycle Modular Helmet Base Layer Replaced every 48 Hours or Weekly

The helmet is the perfect balance of safety and sleek. The quick release buckle easily stays secured to your helmet, but releases conveniently with one hand. With four shell sizes available for an adjustable fit, you won’t have to worry about hair getting stuck inside or any annoying gaps between your forehead and the chin strap. Snugly fitting ear cups keep noise levels down without sacrificing comfort, while deep grooves on the interior offer ventilation when the weather gets hotter outside. Enjoy a tour through all of these features below!

Extreme Protection  – A scratch-resistant outer visor ensures that scratches are less likely to make their way onto this product’s surface

sizing – offers four shaping sizes so you can find just the right

Conclusion 

A good 1storm Motorcycle Helmet can be the difference between life and death. For those of us who depend on our bikes for transportation, we know how important it is to find a quality helmet that will keep you safe on your ride. 1storm provides some great helmets with an affordable price tag and high-quality features so you don’t have to sacrifice safety or comfort in order to get what you need. We hope this review has been helpful as you search for the perfect fit!

 

2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan – What’s New?

0


2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan… What’s new? Since the incredible and it has to be said, unexpected popularity of Ewan Mc Gregor and Charley Boorman’s Long Way Round TV series in 2004 and the subsequent repeat on the BBC in 2008, adventure motorcycling has enjoyed an amazing upward trajectory. Today almost every mainstream manufacturer has at least one adventure capable machine in their line up, all desperate not to miss out on the potential market. Royal Enfield’s first foray into the sector came to the showrooms with the first carbureted Royal Enfield Himalayan rolling off the Chennai production line early in 2016. Priced at just above £4,000 in the UK, this really was adventure motorcycling on the cheap. Yet with quality and build issues on the early versions of the bike, it was clear that a low price was not the only thing that mattered. 

For 2020, Royal Enfield unveiled the latest incarnation of the Himalayan, which for the Indian market for the moment, comes complete with switchable ABS, a better side stand and hazard warning lights. Not quite cutting edge tech for most manufacturers, but for a company that has successfully relied on technology from the 1950s, it’s a brave new frontier. With Ride Expeditions using the Royal Enfield Himalayan on both the Himalayan Heights and Hidden Himalayas tours in northern India, it seemed worth looking into how the new bike is put together, and how it’s perfectly suited to our adventures at the top of the world. 

So what’s new with the 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan?

Royal Enfield Himalayan 2020
THE WINTER IN THE HIMALAYAS IS WHEN YOU MIGHT APPRECIATE THE NEW BIKE”S GENTLE POWER! Image ROYAL ENFIELD

THE ENGINE

So at the heart of the 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan is a 411cc single overhead camshaft, air-cooled, single cylinder, four-stroke motor. Enfield have been using the same pushrod valve operated motors in their Indian built Bullets since 1957, so the move to a SOHC motor was unprecedented. 

With bore and stroke at 78mm by 86mm, the long stroke motor puts out a very modest 23.4 bhp at 6,500 rpm, with the maximum torque coming in between 4,000 and 4,500 rpm. Somewhat bizarrely, the power output on the 2020 bike is slightly less than earlier models, suggesting that meeting emission regulations has robbed power from the 24.8 bhp available in 2018. What certainly can’t help is the engine’s large dimensions, which in comparison to a more modern designed four stroke motor is simply enormous. That said, the service intervals on the RE are going to be a lot wider spaced than a KTM 350 EXC-F!

While the latest and most expensive adventure bikes like the BMW R1250 GS are getting slipper clutches and quick shifters, the Royal Enfield Himalayan just gets a no-frills multi plate clutch and a five-speed gearbox. Ignition is electronic, but don’t expect selectable riding modes and a tuneable ECU!

Although the initial version has a carburettor, thankfully Royal Enfield dropped this in favour of fuel injection a year later and the new model continues this for 2020 – an essential if you are actually taking the bike into the Himalayas – the early models could barely make it up Khardung La without removing the air filter, despite what the marketing video showed.

The bike runs a single exhaust exiting on the right side of the deeply finned cylinder, and a single side mounted end can which is pleasingly smaller than expected. The new bike now runs a catalytic converter that sits in the lump on the downtube of the header pipe.

Royal Enfield Himalayan
THE NEW RED ROCK COLOUR SUITS THE 2020 ROYAL ENFIELD HIMALAYAN WELL. Image ROYAL ENFIELD

THIS IS WHAT WE DO… AND YOU COULD JOIN US!

THE CHASSIS

While all of Royal Enfield’s model line up prior to the Himalayan had been based on the original Bullet’s frame, for the new adventure bike they turned to Harris Performance, a UK based engineering firm that Royal Enfield had purchased back in 2015. The result is a steel half duplex split cradle frame that wraps over and around the engine. For those who remember the exquisite frame creations that Harris used to produce back in the 80’s and 90’s, the Himalayan’s metalwork is an entirely different and almost agricultural creation, designed to withstand the very worst of Indian roads – and believe us they can be very bad!

For the suspension, the 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan has some rather slim looking 41mm conventional forks up front that deliver a respectable 200 mm of travel, whereas at the back there’s another first for Royal Enfield with a single centrally mounted shock with a linkage mounted to a long swingarm that will allow 180mm movement. There is no adjustment in the forks, but you can alter the preload on the rear shock.

To protect the Himalayan from the rigours of off road riding – or indeed the streets of Mumbai, the bike has an alloy sump guard and bars at the side of the tank that also can hold side bags. The seat is a dual height, two piece affair, and there is a substantial rack to finish it all off at the back, with luggage options from the accessory catalogue

Royal Enfield Himalayan
THE ROYAL ENFIELD 2020 HIMALAYAN HAS BEEN IMPROVED SLIGHTLY, BUT IT’S NOT VASTLY DIFFERENT TO THE ORIGINAL. Image ROYAL ENFIELD

WHEELS AND BRAKES

While adventure bikes with a more off-road focussed set up tend to have a 21 inch front and 18 inch rear wheel, the Himalayan stops a bit short of this with a 17 inch rear matched to the 21 inch front. Unsurprisingly, the Royal Enfield uses spoked wheels!

Brakes are from Bybre – Brembo’s Indian off-shoot – with a twin pot floating calliper gripping onto a single 300mm floating disc at the front, with a single piston calliper and 240mm disc at the rear. Earlier models had no switch to the ABS system meaning that unless you took out the fuse, it was constantly on, but the 2020 bike has dual channel switchable ABS, so you can at least turn off the rear when required, which is off the tarmac. 

Royal Enfield Himalayan
THE SLEET GRAY OPTION HAS ECHOES OF DAZZLE PATTERN BATTLESHIPS! Image ROYAL ENFIELD

WEIGHTS AND MEASURES

The 2020 Himalayan starts well with the figures, having a respectable 220mm ground clearance and a seat height at a mere 800mm which can certainly help when you are moving around on the rough stuff. What hasn’t helped is the 199kg weight of the machine – 5kg up on the previous model – which for a machine just over 400cc is pretty damn heavy, especially when you consider that figure is somewhat cunningly quoted with a 90% fuel load. Given that the fuel tank holds 15 litres of the finest unleaded, the additional 1.5 litres needed to actually fill the tank would take the bike over the 200 kilo mark. Picking this bike up after a long day is not going to be much fun … 

COLOURWAYS

So for 2020, the chaps have gone mad with the paint pots, creating six different options for the marketing people to come up with inspirational names for, but clearly they were not having a particularly inspired day. Never mind – from snow to sleet, gravel to granite – it’s all there to choose from. 

Snow White - 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan
SNOW WHITE

Rock Red - 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan
ROCK RED

Sleet Grey - 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan
SLEET GREY

Gravel Grey - 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan
GRAVEL GREY

Lake Blue - 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan
LAKE BLUE

Granite Black - 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan
GRANITE BLACK

PLENTY OF OPTIONS FOR YOU! Images ROYAL ENFIELD

The first bike was designed by the legendary South African designer Pierre Terblanche, ex-Ducati and Moto Guzzi who passed his magic over the Himalayan to give it a certain chunky functionality. And thankfully, Royal Enfield have done nothing to break away from that initial design, keeping the 2020 Himalayan visually almost identical to the first bikes back on 2016. Compared to the sleek lines of Japanese and Italian adventure bikes, it does look a tad basic and old-fashioned, but for many, that’s no bad thing …

IS THE 2020 ROYAL ENFIELD HIMALAYAN COMING TO YOU SOON?

So whether you will be able to get hold of the all new 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan will be very much dependent on where you live. For those in India, the home country of the brand, the bikes should already be in the showrooms and ready for your rupees. 

If you are in the UK however, the updated version is, as of March 2020, not scheduled to be imported, so you are going to have to settle for the previous incarnation, that has fuel injection, non-switchable ABS and slightly more power. Oh and all the new colours are available too!

And if you want to see the Royal Himalayan in action, check out our epic videos below!

Ride the Royal Enfield on a Himalayan Motorcycle Tour



Outlander’s Sam Heughan cruises on a Harley Davidson as he holidays in LA — Bikernet Blog

0


by Kirsten McStay from https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk

Outlander ‘s Sam Heughan posted a picture of himself posing on a Harley Davidson as he holidayed in LA.

The 41-year-old actor has been enjoying some down time since Outlander wrapped back in June.

He recently travelled to Mexico and before heading into the US where today he posted a picture of himself riding around LA on a plush Harley Davidson bike.

He wrote on Instagram: “Been cruising in the California sunshine! Thank you @harleydavidson for the loan of these sweet wheels. Nothing beats driving on these awesome bikes, to some good music and an epic landscape! @harleydavidson_uk @westcoastharley #harleydavidson #motorcycle #motorbike #ad.”

Back in July, Sam posted a similar Harley picture but instead of LA, with the stunning backdrop of the Scottish Highlands.

The picture was for a new campaign for his Sassenach whisky brand.

Sam donned a leather jacket as he perched on the Harley – with the number plate ‘WH15KEE’, and over looked a stunning view of hills.

In August last year, the actor passed his motorbike driving test in Rutherglen after taking a lessons for over a year.

He has since been out and about in Glasgow on his bike and now he posted the new snap in the Highlands while visiting for a work shoot.

Outlander is a historical drama television series based on the ongoing novel series of the same name by Diana Gabaldon. Developed by Ronald D. Moore (the Battlestar Galactica developer), the show premiered on August 9, 2014, on Starz. The series has been renewed for an 8-episode sixth season and a 16-episode seventh season.

Outlander series of historical fantasy novels is written by American author Diana Gabaldon. Gabaldon began the first volume of the series, Outlander, in the late 1980s, and it was published in 1991. She has published eight out of a planned ten volumes.

From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outlander_(TV_series)

From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outlander_(book_series)

Jacqui Van Ham: The [ONLY] Woman in the Commentary Box

0


We could tell you that Jacqui Van Ham is “the voice” of the motorcycle industry. But you already knew that. And if you didn’t, where have you been? Instead, we’re going to tell you what Jacqui is all about. In two words: dogs and snacks.

Ok, maybe we need more than two words.

 

Jacqui Van Ham is the only woman currently announcing motorcycling events. We’re talking about race commentary here. Yes, there are several women who do the pre and post-race interviews as well as interviews on the podium. But full race commentary in the box? That is Jacqui’s realm. It makes her an anomaly in this sport because she’s the only woman in that role. And yet, she continues to hustle, while staying humble and keeping that larger-than-life smile on her face at all times. We really don’t know how she does it.

“You know, I’m just really out here trying to make a living. I’m really pumped to be in this time and in this space and in this community because even though 2020 was a lot of suck in a lot of ways, I really do think it’s a really exciting time.”

 

 

“I think the uptick in e-bikes and E bicycles is super exciting. I think the fact that Harley Davidson is putting out an adventure bike right now is super exciting. I think that BMW putting out a retro classic cruiser right now is super exciting. I think that having all of these brand new riders is genuinely super exciting.”

The brand new riders Jacqui is talking about are the huge influx of new motorcycle owners the community gained during the pandemic. She firmly believes that now is a crucial time for the industry to step up and adapt to the changing audience and customer base. And new riders need a lot of support. Here’s where Jacqui’s expertise comes into play.

 

 

“These people need training. These people need advice. But really, these riders need inspiration, too. I’m really trying to be in the space of inspiring these new riders. As an example, I want to show them pictures of my camper van when I throw a dirt bike and drive to Utah with me and my dog. I want to go braap around Utah in the desert for a week and have fun and photograph the bejesus out of it. I want to document how we got there, and what we did. I want to show them that they can do this too, like how to rent an RV and go do that! I want to show all those types of stories of how to make that happen, how to connect the dots. I want to get new riders on the path of more adventures and going more places and seeing more stuff.

Jacqui’s secret to reaching and connecting with new riders is simple: get back to basics.

“The one thing that I’ve always tried to do at all of my different jobs, whether its race announcing or announcing for a brand or digitally hosting a video for a company, is that I try to come at it with totally fresh eyeballs. I try to explain things and talk about things in a very easy-to-understand, digestible, easy to access way. “

 

 

“Right now, if you get on the internet and look up motorcycle videos, even if it’s just talking about events, they kind of talk above your head because they’re so used to going to these places, doing these things, or working on these bikes. So, they use lingo and jargon and words that I think are so beyond the majority of motorcyclists. This happens especially with how-to videos and wrenching videos. I think we’ve got to get back to the basics, man.”

Jacqui is more than willing to be that person that puts their hand up and says, “Hey, I don’t know what you’re talking about. Like, let’s get deeper into that. And let’s figure this out.”

 

 

“For years I have worked with high-performance companies and they would all talk about hot cam. Well, what the hell is a hot cam? I had no idea what that was. So I sat down and got on the internet and did my research and taught myself what cams are, first of all. And then what is a hot cam and why does it matter? And why are all these performance companies saying it, but not explaining what the hell it is? Then I made a video about it.”

Jacqui Van Ham has a library of videos that cover a wide range of topics, from the history of motorcycles to detailed explanations of how motorcycles work, including diving into the engine and transmission. You can find them on her official website: http://www.jacquivanham.com/ or on her Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Jacquivanhamofficial.

“My passion for being in the motorcycling industry is turning people on to things that they didn’t know. Whether it’s inspiring them to travel more, or go places by bike, or ship a bike and go have an adventure somewhere. Sometimes it’s about explaining the nuts and bolts of motorcycles and how they actually work. Let’s get a better understanding of what’s happening underneath your seat.”

 

 

If videos aren’t your thing, fear not! Jacqui is always at her best during live events, and she’s at a ton of them. Anyone who has attended an event where Jacqui is announcing has learned something new. She’s an encyclopedia of self-taught knowledge, with hands-on experience and a heart of gold.

“I make them feel the feeling. My passion is spreading the passion. My passion is spreading enthusiasm. My passion is inspiring people to live their best lives out here with power sports, having more adventures, doing things that they didn’t think they could do, and turning them on to something that maybe they didn’t even know that they would enjoy.”

One of her lesser-known roles is to create what she calls “dirt monsters” out of her friends and fellow industry folk. And she doesn’t do it for the money. On the contrary.

“One of my favorite things is turning people on to dirt bikes because it’s so simple and they’re cheap and little. Watching people light up on dirt bikes is to me as one of the greatest things ever, because I’m passionate about spreading the passion. And that’s it. It’s just an immediate give back to me when I see people light up like that.”

 

Jacqui Van Ham with her 1972 BMW R75/5 came from the USA to the Petrolettes Festival, in Milmersdorf near Berlin (Germany) on 21 July 2018. Petrolettes is one of the biggest women-only motorcycle gatherings in Europe bringing together three generations of women. For three days 350 bike women mainly from across Europe enjoyed the third edition of the festival and their passion for motorbikes along with music, races, yoga, etc. The festival was initiated by members of The Curves, a collective of female motorbike riders from Berlin. Petrolettes Festival #3 2018 at Ahlimbsmühle, Milmersdorf, Bradenburg, Germany on Saturday, 21 July 2018. Copyright © 2018 Patricia Sevilla Ciordia, all rights reserved.
RBMA: What could possibly be next for the self-motivated professional talker?

Jacqui: I’m always looking for rad companies to work with. There are really good folks out here in all sorts of different stuff, you know, from manufacturers to parts and accessories. I dig all that stuff. I’ve always used the hashtag #allthingsmotorcycle in all of my media because, if it’s got wheels, I’m stoked about it. I’m super down to check it out and learn more and ride the wheels off of it.

Written By: Brittany Morrow

 

“If you have been involved in a motorcycle accident, don’t let it steal your freedom! Call 1-800-4-BIKERS to learn how an experienced motorcycle accident lawyer can get your bike fixed, money for your medical bills, and compensation for your pain and suffering.”