Bullet Brawl June 1, 2024: Naroditsky Out-Brawls Hyperbullet Rivals

Days after his second-place finish in the Chess.com Hyperbullet Championship, GM Daniel Naroditsky finished atop June’s first Bullet Brawl ahead of rival GMs Tuan Minh Le and Andrew Tang. After scoring 236 points in a run that included a precision-laden win over super-GM Anish Giri, Naroditsky was the deserving winner of the $400 first prize.

A duel for the $100 women’s prize could only be split by tiebreaks as WGM Aleksandra Maltsevskaya equaled FM Anastasia Avramidou‘s score of 91 but was ousted due to conceding more losses, while Cesar Frank Talledo Lagos bagged yet another community brawl title.

The next Bullet Brawl will commence on Saturday, June 8, 2024, at noon ET/18:00 CEST.


Rank Fed Title Name Username Rating Score
1 GM Daniel Naroditsky DanielNaroditsky 3237 236
2 GM Tuan Minh Le wonderfultime 3107 212
3 GM Andrew Tang penguingm1 3187 189
4 GM Oleksandr Bortnyk Oleksandr_Bortnyk 3171 185
5 GM Eric Hansen ChessBrah 3097 180
6 GM Vi Pranav vi_pranav 3114 176
7 GM Anish Giri AnishOnYoutube 3118 172
8 GM Salem AR Saleh Salem-AR 3086 170
9 IM Yoseph Taher yosephtaher 2997 167
10 GM Jose Martinez Jospem 3088 152
11 GM Nitzan Steinberg Nitzan_Steinberg 2904 144
12 GM Rasmus Svane rasmussvane 2904 132
13 FM Gauri Shankar grandmastergauri 2813 122
14 IM Khumoyun Begmuratov KhBegmuratov 2865 121
15 GM Maciej Klekowski maciek_92 2849 118
16 IM Bojan Maksimovic mbojan 2826 112
17 FM Havard Haug bubeliang 2858 110
18 FM Lucas Cardoso lucasmito 2774 110
19 FM Aradhya Garg Aradhya2000 2679 107

FM Egor Koshulyan Egor_Koshulyan 2799 102
(Full final standings here)

66 wins, five draws, and nine losses were the stats that mattered for Naroditsky as he surged to victory ahead of 134 titled players in the 55th edition of Bullet Brawl on Saturday. Combined with GM Hikaru Nakamura, the ruthless duo has now won 42/55 events, or approximately 76% of all Bullet Brawls since its inception.

In the latest edition, Naroditsky announced his form in the first game, toppling the world number 15 Giri on the white side of the Alapin Sicilian Defense. The deft 25.Rxf6!! allowed Naroditsky to simplify into a winning endgame.

A single loss against IM Mykola Bortnyk was the only blight on Naroditsky’s scorecard in the first hour and the slip was quickly forgotten in a sea of tactical triumphs. One of the highlights of this period was a deconstruction of Avramidou’s Modern Defense, where the American GM was able to win despite never possessing a material advantage.

With a huge buffer over the rest of the field, Naroditsky was able to coast to victory in a Nakaura-less field. The ease with which Naroditsky was able to win bodes well for his Chess.com Bullet Chess Championship ambitions and in one week he will commence play as one of the four favorites alongside GM Magnus Carlsen, Nakamura, and GM Alireza Firouzja.

GMs Vladimir Fedoseev, David Paravyan, Sam Sevian, and Christopher Yoo will join the 12 invitees in a sixteen-player double-elimination bracket.

For those looking to improve their mouse skills in bullet chess, you needn’t look further than the new Chess.com hyperbullet champion Tang who won 58 games, drew four, and lost 14 en route to a third-place finish and won $150 for his efforts.

Tang is quite possibly the quickest player on Earth! Photo: Maria Emelianova/Chess.com.

While streaming the event on Twitch, Tang gave visual insight into how important predicting your opponent’s moves and safe pre-moves are in the fastest time controls while playing against Chessbrah GM Eric Hansen

With more than 100 titled players competing in Bullet Brawl every week, it is truly extraordinary that only seven unique players have won the title. While the names on the leaderboard are not surprising, the fact that occasionally participating super-GM such as Carlsen, Giri, and GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave have yet to secure a title is a testament to the dominance of Nakamura and Naroditsky.

Naroditsky’s 17th win will be added shortly.

How to review games?
The games from this week’s Bullet Brawl can be found here.

Bullet Brawl is an exciting new titled arena that features Chess.com’s top bullet specialists and takes place weekly on Saturdays. The format is a two-hour arena with a 1+0 time control; the prize fund is $1,000.

Much like Titled Tuesday and Arena Kings, Bullet Brawl often features top GMs, including Hikaru Nakamura, Daniel Naroditsky, Andrew Tang, Tuan Minh Le, and many more!

Previous coverage:

Discover more from reviewer4you.com

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your Cart is empty!

It looks like you haven't added any items to your cart yet.

Browse Products
Powered by Caddy

Discover more from reviewer4you.com

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading